Monday, October 24, 2011

Community-Campus Partnerships for Health

Community-Campus Partnerships for Health is a nonprofit organization that promotes health, broadly defined, through partnerships between communities and institutions of higher education.

The CCPH Award is designed to recognize exemplary partnerships between communities and institutions that build on each other's strengths to improve higher education, civic engagement, and the overall health of communities.

The intent of the award is to highlight the power and potential of community-campus partnerships in the social justice field. The award recognizes partnerships that are striving to achieve the systems and policy changes needed to overcome the root causes of health, social, and economic inequalities. The award seeks nominations of partnerships that pursue multiple community-campus partnership strategies, involve a full range of partners, and achieve significant outcomes that go beyond a process or a single event.

Partnerships may nominate themselves and need not be members of CCPH.

Date due: January 16, 2012

For more information, click here.
Enhanced by Zemanta

Thursday, October 13, 2011

2012 Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Community Health Leaders

The 2012 Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Community Health Leaders awards program will recognize individuals in the United States working to solve the health challenges that confront their own communities. Nominees may be someone doing exceptional work to improve health or access to healthcare in his or her community, or someone who has solved a daunting community health problem.

The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation selects ten unsung heroes each year to receive the award, which includes national recognition, opportunities to network and collaborate with fellow health leaders around the country, and $125,000 to support the leader's work. The winners receive tools and knowledge to help them continue their efforts to improve health and healthcare where they live.

Selected leaders come from diverse professional backgrounds and regions of the country. Among other examples, recent award winners are providing compassionate care to dementia patients; supporting lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) youth; providing free healthcare to homeless women; and developing support services for brain injury survivors.

For more information, click here.